Your Councillors

The Chairman’s Role

A chairman is elected annually by the members of the council at the annual meeting of the council.

Unless they resign or become disqualified, the chairman continues in office until their successor becomes entitled to act as chairman at the next annual meeting of the council.

The chairman’s main role is to run council meetings. They can suggest the content and design of the agenda, but as legal signatory, technically the clerk has the final say. The chairman is responsible for ensuring that effective and lawful decisions are taken at meetings of the council and, assisted by the clerk, guides activities by managing the meetings of the council. The chairman is responsible for involving all councillors in discussion and ensuring that councillors keep to the point. The chairman summarises the debate and facilitates the making of clear resolutions and is responsible for keeping discussions moving so that the meeting is not too long. The chairman has a casting vote.

Their first vote is a personal vote as a member of the council. If there is a tied vote, the chairman can have a second or casting vote. The chairman has the power to call an extraordinary meeting of the council at any time.

The chairman will often be the public face of the council and will represent the council at official events. They may be asked to speak on behalf of the council and, in such circumstances, should only express the agreed views of the council and not give their personal views. The chairman cannot legally make a decision on behalf of the council.

2019 Chairman 
Cllr Richard Moorby

chairman Richard Moorby 

Mr David Bevan

Councillor

1 West Lea
High Street
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2EA

01291 690267 - 07837 196786

d.bevan@raglancc.org.uk

Mr Chris Butler-Donnelly

Councillor

24 Ethley Drive
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2FD

01291 691234 - 07931 887744

c.butler-donnelly@raglancc.org.uk

Ms Hazel Davies

Councillor

15 Sunnyvale
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2EF

07792 626544

h.davies@raglancc.org.uk

Mrs Martine Dorey

Councillor

Beaufort House
Castle Street
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2DS

01291 690569

m.dorey@raglancc.org.uk

Mrs Charlotte Exton

Councillor

Tal-y-Van Lodge
Dingestow
Monmouthshire
NP25 4BG

01600 740707 - 07977 560310

c.exton@raglancc.org.uk

Mrs Penny Jones

Councillor

Llanusk Cottage
Llanbadoc
Nr Usk
Monmouthshire
NP15 1TA

07752 482722

PennyJones@monmouthshire.gov.uk

Mr Adrian Merrett

Vice-Chairman

Merrysteam Bungalow
Rhiwlas
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2JL

07847 889989

a.merrett@raglancc.org.uk

Mr Richard Moorby

Chairman

Orchard Cottage
Llandenny Walks
Nr Usk
Monmouthshire
NP15 1DR

01291 672479

r.moorby@raglancc.org.uk

Mrs Sylvia Price

Councillor

24 Prince Charles Close
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 2FB

01291 690457

s.price@raglancc.org.uk

Mrs Helen Tilley

Councillor

The Old Victoria
Llandenny
Raglan
Monmouthshire
NP15 1DL

07973 793696

h.tilley@raglancc.org.uk

Mr Brian Willott

Councillor

Coed Cefn
Tregaer
Monmouth
NP25 4DT

07811 448285

b.willott@raglancc.org.uk